4 thoughts on “Making Peace with Star Wars

  1. I was recently just thinking how nice it would be if I could gang up with parents in my children’s school and show our kids only a selection of pre-approved films. Certainly such shared cultural references, though decidedly retro, could hopefully overtake the one at school! We showed our kids the old Oliver! musical and for two weeks afterwards they were going about humming snippets of the songs. (though my son has since advised me to skip the scary part near the end).

    It’s cool that you and your husband are on the same page and have found a nice strategy to cope with this!

  2. You won’te believe it but my son (4) and his classmates are also into Star Wars!!! And we live on a tiny island of Cyprus! My son has never set eyes on anything remotely star wars until the kids at school dressed up for a carnival celebration and low and behold there was Darth Veda and Luke and all the other characters at school ! I was never a fan of Star Wars so I don’t even know the names of the rest of the characters but I agree with you fully regarding the violence that the kids are subjected to on a day to day basis without regard to their growing mind and emotions and spirit! I like how you handled the ‘bad guy’ label !

    We too try hard at home to provide an environment that is free of violence and promotes healthy, loving relationships but the truth is,the influence from outside is strong.

    I’ll check out the book!

  3. This is definitely an incredibly rich resource that you have spent so much valuable time developing, I’ll recommend it to parents at our school as well as link to it in our Montessori Resources section so that our teachers can take a look. Also, my 5 year old nephew is so hardcore into star wars i am sending this to his parents post haste. Thanks!

I'd love to know what YOU think!

